We use cookies to give you the best user experience. I agree Find out more

How to Delete Skype Account Permanently?

how to delete skype account

Planning to go off grid? Sick and tired of technology, to the point you don’t want to have to do anything that involves the internet? Or is it just that your Skype holds many memories with your ex and you want to get rid of them by shifting to another service?

In any case, here is a solution that will work for you if you want to delete Skype Account.

How to delete Skype account the right way?

When you set out to delete Skype account do it the right way, so that the data is wiped out permanently. However, before doing so, ensure that you know the full process and understand the steps well.

Although it’s no surprise that an online provider wouldn’t advertise the account deletion option upfront, Microsoft has made Skype account closure process extraordinarily complex, more so than it needs to be.

Permanently deleting a Skype account comprises of multiple steps, involving the removal of any payment methods, cancellation of existing subscriptions, and delinking of the Microsoft account and more.

Your Microsoft account is centralized:

Your Skype account is directly linked to your Microsoft account because Microsoft centralizes all services falling under its umbrella.

This means, if you delete one all the other Microsoft-linked services also get deleted. For instance, after deleting your Skype account you will no longer have access to Outlook, online Office apps and OneDrive.

If this sounds too much to you, relax!

You can still retain your Microsoft account while erasing data from the Skype database. In this manner, your account continues to exist but you become invisible on Skype and other users are unable to find you.

How to Delete Skype Account Permanently on Desktop:

Before permanently closing Skype and the related accounts, you will have to go through a few security steps first.

  • Visit this page and enter your credentials then click Next:

  • On the subsequent screen, enter your password and Sign in.

  • Now you will have to verify your identity after which a confirmation code will be sent to your Email addresses registered with Skype. If you no longer have access to the Email ID’s you can select I don’t have any of these.

  • The email addresses associated with your account will not be fully visible. You will need to enter the complete email address on the following page and click Send code.

  • Now, you will be prompted to enter the code sent to you and click Verify

  • The page displayed now will show you what will happen once you delete your Microsoft account. Read these pointers carefully and ensure that you understand before clicking Next.

  • As a final step, you will need to check off each of the most common account closure consequences. You will need to select reason for closing down the account at the very bottom and then click Mark account for closure.

At this point all you need to do is, wait for some 60 days or so for your account to be completely deleted and your information in Microsoft’s servers to be removed.

However, if you change your mind at any point during this time, all you need to do is access a Microsoft service with your account and it will be reactivated.

Things to do before you delete Skype Account:

Do not forget the following before breaking up with Skype forever:

  • Spend the credits you accumulated for paid Skype calls
  • Cancel automatic recharge if you have it activated by visiting this page

How to become unsearchable on Skype?

The process of becoming unsearchable on Skype is not too complicated and simply means that you should remove your personal information, which you added when creating your profile.

This includes, your name, gender, date of birth, phone number and location – city and country.

  • To delete personal information, sign in to your Skype account, click your name or username in the menu bar and click My Account.

  • On the subsequent page, scroll and click on Edit Profile

  • You will be directed to your profile’s page. Click Edit Profile in the Personal information section.

How to modify your Skype Avatar to delete Skype account?

While removing your personal information from Skype, you will need to delete your personal avatar. You can do this through the following steps:

  1. Log in Skype and go to Skype > Profile > Avatar.
  2. Select a new image
  3. Use the login screen to delete your account
  4. Type Run, press Enter and then type %appdata%\Skype and click on OK.
  5. Locate and delete the folder with your Skype account’s name.
  6. Now remove the username from Skype directory and reboot the system.

Permanently Closing Your Skype Account on Mobile:

The process to delete Skype on mobile is a bit different but relatively same as that of Desktop.

  1. Begin by clicking on your profile icon in the screen’s top center
  2. Click on the gear icon located in the upper right corner
  3. Once the settings menu is open, find and click the Account and Profile
  4. In the next tab, option to close your account will appear. Click on it.
  5. Now, you will be asked to confirm your identity which may involve re-entering your password, while the other option depend upon the information you have provided earlier.You can receive an SMS or e-mail with a verification code. All you need to do is, follow the instructions until you see a tab asking you to ensure that your account is ready to close.
  6. In this step, you will be presented a list detailing what will happen once you close your account. If Skype happens to be the only Microsoft service you use, most part of this checklist may not be relevant for to you.If that is not the case, read this list carefully in order to ensure that you understand each point before checking it and moving down the list. At the bottom, you will need to select the reason for deleting your account via a drop down menu. Select the valid reason and click on Mark account for closure.

Whether you choose to delete Skype account on Windows or on the mobile app, in both cases you will be given a period of 30 days to reverse your decision. If you don’t do so, your Skype account will be deleted permanently along with rest of the Microsoft account.