We use cookies to give you the best user experience. I agree Find out more

How To Delete Google Photos From Any Device?

remove google photos

Facebook, Instagram, and Google Photos all present an excellent opportunity for storing and sharing photos. But, in the age of pervasive government surveillance and internet privacy concerns, it is easy to be worried about privacy and take the decision to get off any of these services. This guide will help you do just that when it comes to Google photos.

Delete Google photos from the device while keeping the backup

With this option, you can delete photos from your device while maintaining cloud copies.

Step 1: Open the Google Photos app

Step 2: Go to Menu > Settings >Back Up

Step 3: Turn the Backup & sync ON

Step 4: You can now return to the main app screen. In case you have a lot of photos, you may have to wait for them to be backed up.

Step 5: Go to Menu > Settings > Free up device storage and do what the instructions tell

Step 6: You can access the Photos section of the app to access the cloud copies of your photos

Delete Google Photos From Your Device and Google Accounts

Using this option will delete photos from your Goole photo account along with all devices synced to your Google Photos library.

Step 1: Open the Google Photos app

Step 2: Go to menu > Settings > Backup & Sync

Step 3: Turn the Backup & sync ON

Step 4: Tap and hold on the photos you want to delete. Repeat for each photo.

Step 5: Keep the trash icon tapped to delete the files

Restoring Deleted Google Photos

Did you accidentally end up deleting your Google photos? You need not worry since you can recover them within 60 days. Here is how:

Step 1: Open your Google photos app

Step 2: Go to Menu > Trash. All of your deleted photos will be visible here.

Step 3: Hold down the photos you want to restore. Then tap the Restore button

However, more than 60 days have passed, you can no longer restore the photos you deleted.

Google Photos And Your Privacy

Even though Google maintains its stance of securing your permission first before using any content owned by you, you should know that the company can use what you have stored online to learn about your preferences and display targeted ads to you. But, you can always use this guide to delete Google photos completely.