close
Free 2TB Encrypted Cloud Storage + Premium Password Manager
BLACK FRIDAY VPN DEAL 90% OFF
We use cookies to give you the best user experience. I agree Find out more

How to Delete a Discord Server?

How to Delete a Discord Server?

Discord is a popular communication tool that gamers use while playing games and streaming their matches live for the audience. Moreover, Discord is a great tool for creating watch parties for people to stream their favorite TV shows or movies with their friends.

In Discord, there is also an option to create a Discord server where a certain group can chat. And Discord lets users manage multiple Discord servers from a single account. However, there might come a time when a person no longer needs a Discord server or they wish to transfer ownership of that Discord server to another person.

In this blog, readers will find all the necessary information on permanently deleting their Discord server. And as complicated as some users might consider it, the Discord delete server process is quite simple.

So, without wasting any more time, let’s see how to delete Discord server or transfer its ownership to another person:

How to Delete Discord Server on a PC

Here is how to delete server on Discord through the application on a PC:

  • Open the Discord application on the PC.
  • Navigate to the Discord server that needs to be deleted.
  • Click on the down arrow next to the Discord server at the top.
  • Now, select Server Settings from the dropdown menu.
  • In the Server Settings, click on the Delete Server option at the bottom left of the screen.
  • A pop-up will appear on the screen.
  • There, enter the exact name of the Discord server.
  • If Two-Factor Authentication is enabled, then a 6-digit code will be required to proceed.
  • Finally, click on Delete Server.
  • This is how to delete Discord server.

How to Delete Discord Server on Mobile App

In case users wish to know how to delete servers on Discord mobile, this is the process they will need to follow:

  • Open the Discord app on an iPhone or Android smartphone.
  • Navigate to the Discord server that needs to be deleted.
  • From the left edge of the mobile screen, swipe right to open the side menu.
  • Now, tap on the Discord server name at the top.
  • Then, open the Discord server settings by tapping on the gear icon.
  • Next, tap on Overview.
  • At the bottom of the screen, tap on Delete Server.
  • A pop-up will come on the screen asking for confirmation to delete Discord server.
  • If Two-Factor Authentication is enabled, enter the 6-digit verification code.
  • Finally, tap Yes to delete Discord Server.
  • This is how to delete Discord server on mobile.

How to Delete Discord Server via Website

Here is how to delete a server on Discord through the official Discord website:

  • Open the official Discord website on the internet browser.
  • Log in to the Discord account with the Discord username and password.
  • Right-click on the Discord Server that needs to be deleted from the Discord Server List.
  • Now, click on Server Settings.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and click on Delete Server.
  • Type in the exact name of the Discord server.
  • Now, click on Delete Server.
  • If Two-Factor Authentication is enabled, then enter the 6-digit code to proceed.
  • Finally, click on Delete Server.
  • This is how to delete Discord server through the official Discord website.

Transferring Ownership of a Discord Server

In case users do not want to delete the Discord server permanently but rather transfer its ownership to another person, this is the process they will need to follow:

  • Open the Discord app or desktop client.
  • Navigate to the Discord server that needs to be deleted.
  • Click or tap on the Discord server name.
  • Now, open the Server Settings.
  • Next, instead of selecting the Delete Server option, select Members.
  • The entire list of Discord server members will open up.
  • Navigate to the member name who you wish to make the new owner of the Discord server.
  • Select the three vertical dots next to their name.
  • Then, select Transfer Ownership.
  • This is how to transfer ownership of the Discord server to another member.

Saving Valuable Data before deleting Discord account

There is also a way of getting a record of the Discord account data before deleting a Discord account. In case users wish to maintain a personal log, they ought to follow the process below to save valuable Discord data:

  • Open the Discord app or desktop client.
  • Navigate to the User Settings.
  • Next, go to Privacy and Safety.
  • Now, click on Request all of my Data.
  • A request for data will be sent to Discord.
  • After the predetermined period, Discord will send a copy of the entire Discord account data to the connected email address.

Using VPN for Discord Server

Those who wish to carry on using Discord and maintain servers on it ought to practice real caution. An online presence can be exploited if proper precautions are not taken. With Ivacy VPN, users can mask their locations and encrypt the connection for added privacy and security.

Moreover, there are regions like China and UAE where Discord is banned. Unless a user is connected through a VPN service, they will not be able to access Discord in such regions. Here is how to access Discord using Ivacy VPN in geo-restricted regions:

  • Sign up for an Ivacy VPN paid plan.
  • Download and install the Ivacy VPN app or client.
  • Log in to Ivacy VPN using the Ivayc VPN username and password.
  • Connect to the nearest VPN server in the United States.
  • Now, launch the Discord app or desktop client.
  • This is how to access Discord in geo-blocked regions.

Ivacy-CTA

In a Nutshell

Here is everything readers must understand about how to delete Discord server permanently. Once a Discord server is deleted, recovering it is impossible. So, users must be careful before deleting a Discord server permanently. And those using Discord should always use a VPN service like Ivacy VPN to encrypt their internet connection to access enhanced safety and privacy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I delete a server on Discord?

Yes, Discord users can delete a server on Discord with the help of the process discussed above.

Why can’t I delete a Discord server?

If another member owns the Discord server, you will not be able to delete that server. You will only be able to leave the Discord server.

Tags : how to delete discord server

Leave a Response

Live Chat