close
  • Thank You For Social Distancing
  • TRY Ivacy VPN RISK FREE
  • START FREE TRIAL
We use cookies to give you the best user experience. I agree Find out more

Deactivating or Deleting The Facebook Messenger

Delete-Messenger

Deactivating or deleting Facebook messenger can prove to be quite tricky, since deactivating the Facebook account doesn’t deactivate or delete the Facebook messenger by default.

However, considering the massive Facebook data breaches – Cambridge Analytica and other privacy scandals, it makes sense that a huge number of netizens concerned for their privacy, deem it necessary to delete Facebook messenger and their account along with the messenger. The constant mishandling of user data by Facebook has left many fearing for their privacy.

Deactivating a Facebook account isn’t even enough because Facebook messenger holds the same amount of personal data that can continue to be there long after you deactivate your Facebook account. You need to delete messenger along with deactivating the Facebook account to be completely sure.

The Need to Delete Facebook Messenger

The Facebook messenger not only tracks your behavior but has no default encryption option and doesn’t encrypt your past conversations either. Additionally, it has access to your camera, microphone, and contacts.

Deactivating Messenger: How to do it?

It’s quite simple to deactivate Facebook messenger. You can follow these simple steps to deactivate messenger on both the iOS and Android:

1- Launch the messenger

2- Click on your profile located in the top left corner from “Chats”

3- Go to Account settings (Legal and policies on Android)

4- Beneath your Facebook information, tap on “Delete Your Account and Information” (Android users should skip this step)

5- Tap on Deactivate and enter your password

Just log in with your username and password to reactivate in case you change your mind later.

Can I deactivate the without deactivating Facebook?

It is not possible to deactivate Facebook messenger and keep the Facebook account at the same time. However, you can turn off your chat and hide your status while disabling the notifications.

How to Turn off the Facebook messenger

Here are the simple steps you need to follow:

  1. Click on the profile picture located on the top left
  2. Tap on Active status
  3. Utilize the toggle on the top of the screen to turn the Active status on or off

You will now begin shown as inactive. Notifications can also be disabled via the following:

  1. Go to Notifications and Sounds
  2. Turn on “Do Not Disturb”

How to Delete the Messenger account

For the complete removal of the Facebook messenger, you will need to delete your Facebook account for the removal of all data. Here is how you can do that:

  1. Log in Facebook and click on the small arrow appearing in the top right
  2. Go to “Settings”
  3. Click on “Your Facebook Information” appearing on the left
  4. Click on “Delete Your Account and Information”

After the initiation of the deletion process, you cant reactivate your account or even recover any of the content you added to Facebook. However, you will have the option to download all your data before the deactivation process begins.

Final Thoughts

If you are on a mission to secure your privacy by eliminating any and all presence on social media, deleting the Facebook messenger can prove to be a great first step in that regard. Do let us know if we missed something that you want us to cover!

Live Chat
Shares